top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Minimally Me

I've decided to start making some personal changes and start living a minimalist life style. The majority of my life I have done a lot of, lets say.....hoarding. I guess I tried to live a life like everyone around me had without really taking a moment to see what I truly wanted. My life had slowly become all about designer bags and clothes, cool things from Newbury Comics, and a shit ton of makeup that some youtuber had given a rave review about. It also didn't help that many of my family members are the same way. Constantly filling up spaces with useless items that ultimately carry no meaning and bring me/them absolutely no joy.

By doing away with so many items and taking some personal quiet time with myself (going on long walks without headphones, reading for an hour before going to bed instead of checking my phone, etc.) I've discovered a lot about myself and have started changing my outlook on life.

I feel as though I see things in a lot more positive way and I also feel way more in control of my life. A huge improvement from this time last year when I had a terrible panic attack that led to severe anxiety and bouts of depression and suicidal thoughts but more on that another time.

Here are a couple of youtube channels, podcasts, and people that have been helping me through and really changing things for me so far:

Claire Marshall is honestly one of the few authentic youtubers left. She doesn't fit the mold of all these other hyped up youtubers with overly saturated content with advertisements and drama up the ass. She's a bit of a minimalist in her own way with sticking to basics, being herself, and being open and vulnerable with her struggles in her personal life. When I want to watch something that'll clear my mind and motivate me to be an entrepreneur while loving life and having fun, I always run back to Claire.

I find inspiration for minimalism in fashion from men and women. Hueguh is definitely on the top of my list in the men department. I'm a sucker for clean aesthetics in videos accompanied with clear, straight to the point explanations and Hueguh offers just that. I can't wait to see how his channel will grow, right along with his content.

I'm a huge tech fan and would like to expand my tech in a cost conscious and responsible way and David Zhang's youtube channel is putting me on that path. Once again I've found a youtuber who sticks to the basics and buys for functionality which is way up my minimalist alley.

Tara Olayeye fits into my minimalist list by being a conscious, beautiful human being. Her short films are amazing but the videos she makes about being a black female on youtube and shopping responsibly by thrifting and doing away with fast fashion is what made me fall head over heals for her. Truly #BlackGirlMagic.

I haven't kept up with these twin sisters in quite some time but their videos have always appealed to my less is more senses. Not like many other young youtubers, their videos were filled with indie film vibes that didn't make me want to go to urban outfitters and shop my ways through to get their look. They are smart, quick witted, sisters that you can tell are still figuring it all out. They haven't put out a video in quite some time and that only makes me like them all the more.

Another set of twin sisters that I absolutely adore. They understand quality over quantity and have this minimal afropunk vibe that I've related to in fashion more than any other.

So much more to come, so much more to discover about myself. I can't wait to share this journey with you.

bottom of page